Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



The Hawassa Catholic Secretariat is situated 275 km south of the capital city of Ethiopia, Addis Ababa. The Vicariate stretches out over an area of 118,000 km2 in three administrative regions of the country: Southern Nation Nationalities People’s State (SNNPRS), Oromia and Somalia.


Geographic Coverage

The Pastoral, Social and Development services are extended to the peoples of Sidama, Gedeo, Guji, Borena, Liben and Segen Zones which all together make up over 8 million people occupationally encompassing agrarian, agro-pastoralist & pastoralist communities. The agro-climate condition of these areas vary from highland, midland to lowlands scattered over difficult terrains extending tothe arid lowlands of the Ethiopia-Kenyan border. Most of the lowlands are naturally prone to climate variability and subject to chronic food insecurity.